Return to Headlines

PHOTOS: Breakfast of Champions

Published on Tuesday, May 9, 2023

girl shaking hands in receiving line

Families from Berkeley County School District’s high schools gathered at Trident Technical College on May 9 to celebrate the district’s top academic students in ninth through 12th grade. VIEW PHOTOS.

The annual Breakfast of Champions is a long-standing event hosted by the Berkeley County Chamber of Commerce. The event also recognizes the academic achievements of students from St. John’s Christian Academy.

The students listed below were honored during the event. Plus, seniors are able to recognize a teacher from their school who made a lasting impact on their high school career; those staff members are also included below.

BCSD Superintendent Dr. Anthony Dixon commended the students, and their teachers, for demonstrating leadership and making a positive difference within the district and beyond.

“You students are what is right for our district; you give us hope, you give us encouragement, you make us excited because you are the elite within Berkeley County, and you are being recognized for that today,” Dixon said.

Congratulations to the following students and staff members:


Berkeley High

Bonnie Chen – ninth grade

Rileigh Ballentine – 10th grade

Kristen Chappelear – 11th grade

Evan Kunkle – 12th grade

Jacci Klein – Honored Teacher


Berkeley Middle College

Darynel Segovia Mieles – 11th grade

Kamri Keene Rudofski – 12th grade

Dr. Dawn Smith – Honored Principal


Cane Bay High

Czareen Nuque – ninth grade

Mya McColl – 10th grade

Madison Samuel – 11th grade

Karen Ni – 12th grade

Genene Cook – Honored Teacher


Cross High

Kenneth Howell – ninth grade

Ahmia Davis – 10th grade

Maliq Ravenell – 11th grade

Jaivon Jefferson – 12th grade

Allean Davis – Honored Guidance Counselor


Goose Creek High

Donavan Brown – ninth grade

Raegan Rennett – 10th grade

Mercy Fletcher – 11th grade

Josefin Juliana Eraula – 12th grade

Nicholas Geary – Honored Teacher


Hanahan High

Caroine Dantzler – ninth grade

Matthew Barnes – 10th grade

Avelyn Bailey – 11th grade

Michelle Clark – 12th grade

Matthew Vargyas – Honored Teacher


Philip Simmons High

Anna Alomar – ninth grade

Joseph Wright – 10th grade

Andersen Spina – 11th grade

Isabella Corbit – 12th grade

Kate Sablotsky –­ Honored Teacher


Stratford High

Jaylen Penn – ninth grade

Cloe Runion – 10th grade

Joel Kuykendall – 11th grade

Erik Lindstrom – 12th grade

Josh Artz – Honored Teacher


Timberland High

Olivia Gandolfo – ninth grade  

Coleman Williams – 10th grade

Kirstin Lee – 11th grade  

Tyler Williams – 12th grade

Nicolae Bordieanu – Honored Teacher