Return to Headlines

BCSD students and educators honored at Goose Creek NAACP's scholarship luncheon

Published Saturday, August 10, 2019

NAACP scholarship recipients

Scholarship Recipients and Presenter (l-r): Natasha Marie Bell, Eric Matthew Thompson, Sonya Holmes, and Sharina Haynes (presenter)   - Photo provided by James Duff (Images Photos).

At its 2nd Annual Andrea Glover-Matthews Memorial Scholarship Luncheon, the Goose Creek NAACP honored students and educators from Berkeley County School District as well as other individuals who are making a difference in the lives of area residents. 

The event was held at the Reagan Center on Joint Base Charleston in Goose Creek, on Saturday, July 27, 2019, and attended by members of the Goose Creek NAACP, supporters, honorees and guests.  Dr. Glenda Levine, BCSD Chief Diversity Officer, served as the mistress of ceremony for the luncheon.

Four 2019 graduates of Berkeley County School District were honored as recipients of Andrea Glover-Matthews Memorial Scholarships and received a scholarship in the amount of $500.  Scholarship recipients in attendance at the luncheon included Natasha Marie Bell (Cane Bay High) who will be attending Charleston Southern University, Eric Matthew Thompson (Stratford High) who will be attending the University of South Carolina, and Sonya Holmes (Goose Creek High) who will be attending Coastal Carolina University.  Sydnei Fleming (Cane Bay High) was also recognized as a scholarship recipient at the luncheon.  Sharina Haynes, Chairperson of the NAACP’s Education Committee, presented the scholarships.

Members of the Goose Creek High Black History Quiz Bowl team were recognized at the luncheon for winning first place in a regional quiz bowl held at the 74th Annual Meeting of the 6th District of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., in Durham, NC, in May 2019.  Team members who were present at the scholarship luncheon included Marcus Hermanstyne, a 2019 Goose Creek High graduate who will be attending North Greenville University, and Jayla Bryant, a rising junior at Goose Creek High.  Other members of the winning team included Jerrell Alston, Tyler Steigler, and Treasure Taylor.  Goose Creek High teachers, Kathy Freeman and Jessica Olin served as co-advisors for the quiz bowl team.

Ogugua Nwaezeigwe, a 2019 Cane Bay High graduate, was recognized as a game-changer in education for founding a “STEMinists” program at Cane Bay High.  Research shows that girls are passionate about STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) throughout elementary and middle school, but the passion drops off when they get to high school.  The STEMinists program was developed with the goal of increasing female participation in STEM career fields by exposing these young minds to engaging STEM opportunities and mentoring them along the way.

Two Berkeley County School District administrators and a teacher were also acknowledged for their dedication to educating young people in Berkeley County.  Shameka Washington, Principal of Goose Creek High, and Adrian Busch, Assistant Principal and Athletics Director at Cane Bay High, were recognized as unsung heroes for their tireless efforts.  Chrystal Bryant, Goose Creek High’s 2019 Teacher of the Year, was also acknowledged for her dedication and willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty for students in her business classes.

Along with the aforementioned recognitions, luncheon attendees were also treated with words of inspiration from Chris Singleton, a community advocate who shared a message of love and hope.  Mr. Singleton, a graduate of Goose Creek High and Charleston Southern University, is the son of the late Sharonda Singleton who taught and coached at Goose Creek High and was one of nine worshipers who died in the Mother Emanuel tragedy in 2015.  Mr. Singleton received a standing ovation for his message of love overcoming hate.