Return to Headlines

47 BCSD educators honored with Teacher of the Year awards, considered for District Teacher of the Year

Published Thursday, February 14, 2019

Berkeley County School District (BCSD) has announced its 2019 Teachers of the Year. 

Each year, teachers at BCSD schools nominate three educators to be considered for school-level Teacher of the Year. Each completes a statement of philosophy and a biography. The nominee receiving the most votes from colleagues is elected school Teacher of the Year and considered for District Teacher of the Year.

These teachers will also serve on Berkeley County’s Teacher Forum to represent the interests of their schools and colleagues.

2019 Teachers of the Year

Berkeley Alternative School -- Lisa B. Swiney

Berkeley County Middle College High -- Parker Taie

Berkeley Elementary School -- Kelly Brown

Berkeley High School -- Jacci L. N. Klein

Berkeley Intermediate School -- Meghan Lewis

Berkeley Middle School -- Dana Copeland

Boulder Bluff Elementary School -- Elizabeth Warner

Bowens Corner Elementary School -- Anya Stevens

Cainhoy Elementary School -- Holly Nall

Cane Bay Elementary School -- Nicole Wilborn

Cane Bay High School -- Lynsey Phillips

Cane Bay Middle School -- Andrea Lemon

College Park Elementary School -- Aimee Chambers

College Park Middle School -- Rachel Gamble

Cross Elementary School -- Tyler Bunting

Cross High School -- Kathryn D. Lawson

Daniel Island School -- Amy Hardison

Devon Forest Elementary School -- Christie Calvin

Foxbank Elementary School -- Lindsey Stroud

Goose Creek High School -- Chrystal Bryant

Goose Creek Elementary School -- Jasmin Banks

H.E. Bonner Elementary School -- Christina Nadeau

Hanahan Elementary School -- Michelle Sanford

Hanahan High School -- Alyson Formichella

Hanahan Middle School -- Nicholas Buchholz

Howe Hall AIMS -- Kim Steele

J.K. Gourdin Elementary School -- Victoria Stratton

Macedonia Middle School -- Erin Piazza

Marrington Elementary School -- Valerie S. MacEachern

Marrington Middle School of the Arts -- Chrissy Pfeiffer

Mt. Holly Elementary School -- Sarah Red

Nexton Elementary School -- Kimberly Walker

Philip Simmons Elementary School -- Colleen Bendig

Philip Simmons Middle School -- Derek Classey

Philip Simmons High School -- Eric J. Hatcher

Sangaree Elementary School -- Katelan Urbanic

Sangaree Intermediate School -- Thomas Mignone

Sangaree Middle School -- Tanja Friday

Sedgefield Middle School -- Kimberly Scott

St. Stephen Elementary School -- Samfullard Singleton

St. Stephen Middle School -- Kim Witherspoon

Stratford High School -- Anni Blankenship

Timberland High School -- Matthew Crowder

Westview Elementary School -- Brittany Silver

Westview Middle School -- Sarah Carpentar

Westview Primary School -- Brittany Berg

Whitesville Elementary School -- Madeline Elmore