Return to Headlines

45 BCSD educators honored with Teacher of the Year awards, considered for District Teacher of the Year

Published Thursday, February 22, 2018

Berkeley County School District (BCSD) has announced its 2018 Teachers of the Year. 

Each year, teachers at BCSD schools nominate three educators to be considered for school-level Teacher of the Year. Each completes a statement of philosophy and a biography. The nominee receiving the most votes from colleagues is elected school Teacher of the Year and considered for District Teacher of the Year.

RELATED: BCSD announces nominees for Rookie Teacher of the Year

These teachers will also serve on Berkeley County’s Teacher Forum to represent the interests of their schools and colleagues.

2018 Teachers of the Year

Berkeley Alternative School - Rick Thornley

Berkeley Middle College High - Sherri Scoggins

Berkeley Elementary School - Megan Hackworth

Berkeley High School - Crystal Stokes

Berkeley Intermediate School - Cassandra Cowdrey

Berkeley Middle School - Ashley Tanner

Boulder Bluff Elementary School - Amy Owen

Cainhoy Elementary School - Meridith Fessenden

Cane Bay Elementary School - Emily Doyle

Cane Bay High School - Amanda Duncan

Cane Bay Middle School - Layna Stafford

College Park Elementary School - Maria Earl

College Park Middle School - Lisa Muggeo

Cross Elementary School - Courtena C. Howell

Cross High School - Simona Spinner

Daniel Island School - Jason McDermott

Devon Forest Elementary School - Emily Reichbach

Goose Creek High School - Amanda Cooper

Goose Creek Primary - Rebecca Friedman

H.E. Bonner Elementary School - Kristina Eriksen

Hanahan Elementary School - Stephanie German

Hanahan High School - Deborah Joyce Hanclosky

Hanahan Middle School - Brittany A. Biggane

Howe Hall AIMS - Michelle Power

J.K. Gourin Elementary School - Clarissa A. Milligan

Macedonia Middle School - Kathryn Severe

Marrington Elementary School - Heather Walsh

Marrington Middle School of the Arts - Andrew Miller

Nexton Elementary School - Susan Nelson

Philip Simmons Elementary School - Rosie Herold

Philip Simmons Middle School - Wendy White

Philip Simmons High School - Jay Watterworth

Sangaree Elementary School - Kathy White

Sangaree Intermediate School - Sarah Meeks

Sangaree Middle School - Deva Stevens

Sedgefield Intermediate School - Jessica Williams

Sedgefield Middle School - Kirsten Kelly

St. Stephen Elementary School - Iva Deloris L. Jefferson

St. Stephen Middle School - Erica D. Harper

Stratford High School - Sarah Camens

Timberland High School - Ethan L. Rollerson

Westview Elementary School - Julia Rowland

Westview Middle School - Antonio L. Jordan

Westview Primary School - Brent Dubay

Whitesville Elementary School - Lianna Watson

2018 BCSD District Teacher of the Year selection process is as follows:

March 8 - Eight semi-finalists will be selected for District Teacher of the Year

March 23 - The top three finalists will be announced at the Teacher of the Year Induction Ceremony at Freedom Church

April 27 - All school-level Teachers of the Year as well, as the three district-level finalists, will be recognized at the Teacher of the Year Breakfast at Trident Technical College

The District Teacher of the Year will be announced during the Teacher of the Year Breakfast, sponsored by the Berkeley Chamber of Commerce, Santee Cooper and Trident Technical College.



Katie Tanner