Return to Headlines

Social Media Dangers Parent Training Schedule

Published Tuesday, February 22, 2022

The Office of Security and Emergency Management announced several upcoming opportunities for parents to attend the Dangers of Social Media training events. This parent training will be presented by the BCSD Security and Emergency Management team at multiple schools across the District beginning Thursday, February 24 at Daniel Island School. The schedule for the training is as follows:

  • Daniel Island School (PTA Event)
    • Thursday, Feb. 24 at 6 p.m.       
  • Sedgefield Middle School         
    • Monday, Feb. 28  at 6 p.m.
  • Westview Middle School
    • Wednesday, March 2 at  6 p.m.
  • Sangaree Middle School
    • Monday, March 7 at 6 p.m.
  • Philip Simmons Middle School
    • Wednesday, March 9 at 6 p.m.
  • Cross High School
    • Monday, March 14 at 6 p.m.
  • Hanahan Middle School   
    • Wednesday, March 16 at 6 p.m.
  • Cane Bay Middle School
    • Thursday, March 17 at 6 p.m.
  • Berkeley Middle School
    • Wednesday, March 23 at 6 p.m.
  • Macedonia Middle School       
    • Thursday, March 24 at 6 p.m.

"Social media usage by our students continues to negatively impact safety, school operations, and the social and emotional health of our students," said BCSD Director of Security and Emergency Management, Tim Knight. "It is seldom that we encounter conflict or safety issues that we do not learn originated or spread via student social media accounts. Our goal is to empower our parents and guardians with the information they need to help keep their children, and other children, safe." 

The training will focus on the potential dangers related to social media including, but not limited to, identifying social media trends, recognizing social media apps as they appear and can be hidden on devices, and how to talk with children and teens about appropriate social media engagement. 

Parents and guardians are not required to attend the sessions that are scheduled at their child's school(s). Parents and guardians can select the training site that is most convenient for them and their family. 

Please contact the host school to RSVP if you plan to attend one of these events.

If you have questions about the event or need more information, please contact BCSD Security and Emergency Management Director Tim Knight at knightt@bcsdschools.net