Return to Headlines

BCSD to announce 2018 Teacher of the Year at annual breakfast

Published Wednesday, April 26, 2018

Hendrick's Don Smith with BCSD Teacher of the Year finalists

Mr. Don Smith, Hendrick Automotive Group Charleston/North Charleston, with BCSD Teacher of the Year finalists. (BCSD photo)

The Berkeley County School District (BCSD) will announce its 2018 Teacher of the Year on Friday, April 27, during the annual Teacher of the Year Breakfast, sponsored by the Berkeley Chamber of Commerce, Santee Cooper and Trident Technical College. The 2018 BCSD Teacher of the Year will receive the use of a 2018 Jeep Cherokee Sport for one year, courtesy of Rick Hendrick Jeep Chrysler Dodge in North Charleston.

The finalists- listed in alphabetical order by their school- are: Daniel Island School’s Jason McDermott, Devon Forest Elementary’s Emily Reichbach, and Goose Creek High’s Amanda Cooper.

The principals of the schools of the three finalists included the following accolades in their letters of endorsement for these incredible educators:

  • Daniel Island School- Jason McDermott: Principal Kori Brown said that Mr. McDermott’s passion for his subject matter and the field of education is an ongoing force within his classroom and his school community. Not afraid to take risks, he has innovated a flipped classroom and is constantly in the process of re-evaluating and improving processes that are utilized. Mr. McDermott welcomes parental involvement and draws in parents with his obvious enthusiasm. His classroom is clearly designed to reflect student needs and his efforts to meet those needs on an ongoing basis. His ability to communicate with the various groups with whom he comes in contact during the school day are an asset to the school and the community.

  • Devon Forest Elementary- Emily Reichbach: Principal Cristie Mitchum said that Ms. Reichbach’s knowledge of best practices, as well as her experience as a teacher and technology coach, have been an asset to the school. Students in her classroom are learning through online videos and games, collaborating in online discussions around the world, communicating through Google Classroom, and engaging with digital lessons at their own pace. Ms. Reichbach creates innovative learning opportunities that reach far beyond her classroom walls. She welcomes diversity in her classroom and appreciates each child’s uniqueness. Her students know that she cares for each one of them and accepts them for who they are, but she also challenges them to be the best that they can be.

  • Goose Creek High-Amanda Cooper: Principal Shameka Washington said that Ms. Cooper is known for innovation, creativity, and best practices that empower all students for success. She utilizes instructional strategies that are engaging and demonstrate a profound respect for her students as individuals. Her strategies help even the most reluctant students become focused and involved in their own educations. A natural advocate for students, Ms. Cooper has worked extensively to build a sense of community at Goose Creek High. Ms. Cooper has been instrumental in establishing the Clean Laundry Initiative at Goose Creek High to help ensure that all students have their basic needs met.

All BCSD school-level Teachers of the Year were honored at the annual Teacher Forum Induction on March 23 and will be recognized at this Teacher of the Year Breakfast.

A full listing of BCSD school-level Teachers of the Year are located HERE.


Katie Orvin Tanner