Return to Headlines

Berkeley County Schools to recognize students with Turnaround Awards

Published Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Two 2017 Turnaround Winners

Two students from the 2017 BCSD Turnaround Awards Ceremony. (BCSD photo)

Berkeley County School District will honor a special group of students who have worked extremely hard to make positive and lasting changes in their lives at the Turnaround Achievement Awards Thursday, April 19, beginning at 12 p.m. in the Multi-Purpose Room at Westview Middle School (101 Westview Boulevard, Goose Creek).

This is Berkeley County School District’s 21st year hosting the Turnaround Achievement Award Program. The award honors students who have experienced challenges, but who have made the conscious decision to adopt positive attitudes toward education and in doing so, fully commit to pursuing a successful future.

The tradition began with Berkeley County Schools’ partner, Royal Z Bowling Lanes, sponsoring the program for three school districts in South Carolina. The business continued the partnership for three years, after which time, it could no longer continue the sponsorship. Principals throughout Berkeley County felt strongly about sustaining this unique recognition program and thanks to the support of each of the principals, the district continues to celebrate turnaround achievers annually.

Students honored at the award ceremony will receive a gift and a plaque.

Below is the list of students who will be recognized at this year’s Turnaround Achievement Award ceremony.

2018 Turnaround Student Recipients

Cainhoy Elementary                                   Jaiden Anderson

Cane Bay Elementary                                 Bryce Boone

Marrington Elementary                               Jaymee Waltz

St. Stephen Elementary                              Ashton Moultrie

Westview Elementary                                 Josh Flanders

Whitesville Elementary                               Destinee Gourdine

Whitesville Elementary                               Adriana Rogers

Berkeley Middle                                         Queen Mouzon

Berkeley Middle                                         Damarion Simmons

Cane Bay Middle                                         Konner Marinovich

Cane Bay Middle                                         Waylon Seaton

College Park Middle                                     Kayla Pye

Daniel Island School                                    Jack Altenbach

Daniel Island School                                    Alyssa Tribolet

Hanahan Middle                                          Cooper Alexander

Macedonia Middle                                       Brandon Miklosi

Marrington Middle School of the Arts            Demetri Simmons

Philip Simmons Middle                                Danearis Washington

Sangaree Middle                                         Marcus Williams

St. Stephen Middle                                      Demetruis Willis

Sedgefield Middle                                        JaSaundra Baylock

Westview Middle                                          Alayna Blair

Berkeley High                                              Megan Rolader

Cane Bay High                                             Kayla Lawrence

Cane Bay High                                             Benjamin Ciezadlo

Cross High                                                   Chamanik Johnson

Goose Creek High                                         Codrick Bass

Hanahan High                                               Ashton Lawrence

Stratford High                                               Tyler Frost

Timberland High                                           Machela Mullins

Katie Orvin Tanner