Return to Headlines

BCSD announces eight semifinalists for District Teacher of the Year

Published Wednesday, March 13, 2019

Teacher of the Year semifinalists

Pictured above are the eight semifinalists for BCSD Teacher of the Year. From left to right are Chrissy Pfeiffer, Brittany Silver, Kimberly Walker, Amy Hardison, Christie Calvin, Thomas Mignone, Lindsey Stroud and Sarah Red. (BCSD photo)

During the Tuesday, March 12 Berkeley County Board of Education meeting, the Teacher of the Year from each BCSD school was recognized.

The eight semifinalists for district teacher of the year were also announced.

“I say it every year, but this is truly my favorite meeting of the year," said Board Chair Sally Wofford. "This celebration grounds us and reminds us why we serve on this board.

2019 semifinalists for District Teacher of the Year

  • Daniel Island School – Amy Hardison
  • Devon Forest Elementary – Christie Calvin
  • Foxbank Elementary – Lindsey Stroud
  • Marrington Middle School of the Arts – Chrissy Pfeiffer
  • Mount Holly Elementary – Sarah Red
  • Nexton Elementary – Kimberly Walker
  • Sangaree Intermediate – Thomas Mignone
  • Westview Elementary – Brittany Silver            

“You are truly leaders of leaders, in the best profession,” said acting Chief of Academic Services, Dr. Kelly Wulf.

The next step is an interview process for each of the eight. Following interviews, three finalists will be chosen after a committee visits each teacher’s classroom.

The District Teacher of the Year will be announced at an end of year breakfast.

Last year's District Teacher of the Year was Emily Reichbach of Devon Forest. The District Teacher of the Year for the previous year was Nick Snyder of Cane Bay High. Snyder was also a finalist for South Carolina Teacher of the Year.

Brian Troutman