Return to Headlines

Students, teachers honored at Breakfast of Champions

Published Friday, May 25, 2018

2018 Breakfast of Champions photo

In the photo above Timberland High School senior Kevin Gadsden honors Mrs. Julia Izykowski at the 2018 Breakfast of Champions at Charleston Southern University. (BCSD photo) MORE PHOTOS

Students and teachers from each of Berkeley County School District’s high schools were honored Thursday at the annual Breakfast of Champions event hosted at Charleston Southern University. 

The Breakfast of Champions, a long-standing event sponsored by the Berkeley County Chamber of Commerce, Trident Health, SCE&G and Charleston Southern recognizes the top high school students in the field of academics, leadership and service. 

The BCSD students listed below were honored at the event. Seniors at the breakfast were provided the opportunity to recognize an outstanding faculty member who impacted their lives. The faculty member honored is also included below.

Berkeley Middle College

Camryn Shuler - Academic Excellence, 11th Grade

Amber Nobles - Academic Excellence, 12th Grade

Sherri Scoggins -Honored Teacher

Jennifer Miller - exemplary service

Tyler Dunn - exemplary leadership

Berkeley High School

Kyle Koon - Academic Excellence, 9th Grade

Katelynn Thorne - Grade Academic Excellence, 10th Grade

Ashley Reichard - Academic Excellence, 11th Grade

Robert Lamprecht - Academic Excellence, 12th Grade

George Brittle - Honored Teacher

Mary Neely Jones - exemplary service

Edward Scott - exemplary leadership

Cane Bay High School

Catherine Flake - Academic Excellence, 9th Grade

Elijah Oswald - Academic Excellence, 10th Grade

Ashleigh Allen - Academic Excellence, 11th Grade

Philip Hinton - Academic Excellence, 12th Grade

Ashley Blanchard - Honored Teacher

Ogugua Nwaezeigwe - exemplary service

Breanna Deese - exemplary leadership

Cross High School

Javier Arciniega-Morales Academic Excellence, 9th Grade

Nadajah Whitten - Academic Excellence, 10th Grade

Jessica Sweatman - Academic Excellence, 11th Grade

Michael Lisbon - Academic Excellence, 12th Grade

LaShawn Watson - Honored Teacher

Chamanik Johnson - exemplary service

Kayla Levine-Stephens exemplary leadership

Goose Creek High School

Jasmine Diaz - Academic Excellence, 9th Grade

Meleana Cabales - Academic Excellence, 10th Grade

Isabelle Dodson - Academic Excellence, 11th Grade

Ian Aull - Academic Excellence, 12th Grade

McGeoffery Sklar -Honored Teacher

Jurnee McPherson - exemplary service

Keyshawn Gascey - exemplary leadership

Hanahan High School

Ethan Wood - Academic Excellence, 9th Grade

Maria Ibrahim - Academic Excellence, 10th Grade

Eleanor Hatcher - Academic Excellence, 11th Grade

Shelbie Hughes - Academic Excellence, 12th Grade

Jennifer Bellinger - Honored Teacher

Shalyn Beasley - exemplary service

Kayla Stone - exemplary leadership

Philip Simmons High School

Kate Johnson - Academic Excellence, 9th Grade

Mickey Walker - Academic Excellence, 10th Grade

Travis Sprofera - exemplary service

Hannah Martin - exemplary leadership

Stratford High School

Nicholas Lott - Academic Excellence, 9th Grade

Nathan Gergick - Academic Excellence, 10th Grade

Melanie Tieman - Academic Excellence, 11th Grade

Lauren Gergick - Academic Excellence, 12th Grade

Steven Behringer - Honored Teacher

Daniel Wood - exemplary service

Parker Hoffman - exemplary leadership

Timberland High School

Shalayne Price - Academic Excellence, 9th Grade

Summer Murphy - Academic Excellence, 10th Grade

Kiara Taylor - Academic Excellence, 11th Grade

Kevin Gadsden - Academic Excellence, 12th Grade

Julia Izykowski - Honored Teacher

William Wilkins - exemplary service

Stachia Woodberry - exemplary leadership

** Students from St. John's Christian Academy in Moncks Corner were also recognized by sponsors of the event.