•  
    In Berkeley County School District, staff evaluations are used to ensure effective teaching, promote continuous improvement, and identify areas of strength and growth. All certified teachers and special area educators are evaluated and assisted using the Expanded Assisting, Developing, and Evaluating Professional Teaching (ADEPT) Model. During their first year of teaching, induction contract teachers are provided comprehensive guidance and support through the Program for Inducting Developing Educators (PRIDE). During the PRIDE year, teachers receive support from a school-based mentor, school administrators, and the staff of the Evaluation Office.
     
     
    Teachers on an annual contract are either evaluated formally, with the Expanded ADEPT and South Carolina Teaching Standards (SCTS) 4.0 Formal Evaluation process, or informally using the Diagnostic Assistance process. SCTS 4.0 is South Carolina's primary formal evaluation model for classroom-based teachers.  The SCTS 4.0 rubric is based on sets of performance standards designed and validated by the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching (NIET) and establishes the expectations for what classroom-based teachers are to know, be able to do, and carry out as an integral part of their practice.  The Diagnostic Assistance process is designed to provide teachers with individualized guidance and support prior to a formal evaluation year. Teachers who are hired from another district in the state are evaluated with the ADEPT process, which could include formal evaluation during their first year in Berkeley County School District.
     
     
    Experienced teachers are evaluated annually, focusing on measuring student growth through writing Student Learning Objectives (SLO). During the recertification year, teachers are evaluated formally under the SCTS 4.0 evaluation process. In addition, teachers also have the option of participating in Goals-Based Evaluations (GBE), which promote continuous, self-directed professional growth and development.
     
     
    For more information on these or other evaluation processes, please contact:
     

     

    Tria Grant, Evaluation Coordinator

    grantl@bcsdschools.net

    843-899-8642

     

    Trish Davis, Evaluator

    davisp@bcsdschools.net

    843-899-8633 

     

    Shenna Fox, Evaluator

    foxs@bcsdschools.net 

    843-899-8344

      

    Darlene Gaskins, Evaluator 

    gaskinsd@bcsdschools.net 

    843-899-8732    

     

    Jesstine Guerrero, Evaluator 

    guerreroj@bcsdschools.net 

    843-899-8636

     

    Takara Hart, Evaluator

    hartt@bcsdschools.net 

    843-899-8334

      

    Renee Petit, Evaluator

    petitr@bcsdschools.net

    843-899-8634

      

    Christina Whitaker, Evaluator
    whitakerm@bcsdschools.net
    843-899-8331

     

    Jessica Chasserau, Central Services Lead Mentor 

    chasserauj@bcsdschools.net
    843-899-8328